Recipe- Lovely Lemon Cookies

Hey Cats!

Last night, I had a few friends over to watch The Bachelorette. I personally don’t really believe in the show because I don’t think it’s real life, but I love to watch it just to see how it all unfolds! (Can we talk about how Des sent Robert home? Like, please, he was the best.) It’s also one of those shows that’s just fun to watch with friends and hear everyone’s opinions. It’s only the second week, but my friends and I already have a rotation of who is hosting the watch party, and last night was my turn! None of us are chubsters, but we all love to eat, so I decided to whip up a batch of queso and something sweet! I couldn’t decide what to make, but then I remembered the easy, quick, crowd-pleaser that is the cake-mix cookie. You may recall my Princess Pink Cookies from last summer. I decided to stick with the lemon theme, but change it up a bit! I used a lemon cake mix and added lemon juice and orange juice to the mix to give it a little extra flavor!

Image

You will need:

-1 Lemon cake mix

-2 eggs

-2 tbsp lemon juice

-2 tbsp orange juice

-1/4 cup canola oil

Image

Here’s what you do!

1. Preheat your oven to 350.

2. Now we need to talk about measuring the orange and lemon juices and the oil. The original recipe calls for 1/2 cup of oil, but since we’re adding the juices, that needs to be reduced! Here’s what I did: First, measure out your 2 tablespoons of orange juice and 2 tablespoons of lemon juice and pour them into the measuring cup you’re planning on using for your oil, like this:

Image

This should come to about 1/4 cup. Then, slowly pour the oil into the measuring cup until you have 1/2 cup of liquid, like this:

Image

Not difficult at all!

3. Mix together in a large bowl the cake mix, eggs, and oil/juice mixture until completely combined. Because of the juices, the batter has more of a cake batter texture than a cookie dough texture, so it’s not as easy to work with, but still worth it!

Image

4. Drop by rounded teaspoonfuls onto a greased cookie sheet and bake 8-10 minutes or until brown around the edges. Hopefully they’ll look like this:

Image

My friends told me they loved them, so I guess they’re pretty good! You can try this with any cake mix (though I would omit the orange and lemon juice and use the original recipe) to make any flavor cookies you desire. I thought the lemon was nice and refreshing for summer! I hope you will give this a try, and let me know how it turns out!

That’s all for meow!

-Kristen

Leave a Reply

