How To Handle a Less-Than-Stellar Haircut

Hey Cats!

I have a love/hate relationship with cutting my hair. I always get really excited before I go, but I always leave disappointed and wanting my old hair back. I got my hair cut last week, and I asked for a trim, explaining to my hair lady that I’m trying to grow my hair out. Well, it was a lot shorter than I expected, and she added more layers than I would prefer. Naturally, I panicked and had an unhappy drive home. However, once a few days went by, I got used to it! Here are a few tips on how to deal with a new haircut that you’re not particularly fond of:

1. Don’t Panic! I know this won’t stop you, especially since I told you that I panicked. But try not to, especially when you’re just leaving the salon-it’s not always going to look like it does then!

2. Fix it Yourself- They rarely style my hair at the salon how I would in real life, so when I get home I usually try to make it look somewhat normal. This is helpful if you’re going somewhere after your appointment.

3. Wash it & Fix it Again!- My hair stylist usually uses lots of product in my hair, so I have to wash it either that night or the next day to get it back to normal! The first wash, I would suggest just shampooing and conditioning. Don’t use deep conditioner or any other products so that way your hair can be clean and natural, and you can get a good idea of what you’re working with! Dry it and style like you usually would. I typically find during this stage that it’s not as bad as I thought! I like to have a lot of time when I do this, and try a lot of different styles!

4. If You Still Hate it- give it a couple of weeks! If it’s too short, I would suggest using a strengthening shampoo and deep conditioner to help it grow faster! Or if you’re really unhappy, go back to the salon if that’s in your budget! Just remember that hair always grows back, and there are plenty of hair stylists in the world, and it takes time to find the right one!

Hopefully these tips will help you the next time you encounter a new ‘do that you’re less than impressed with!

That’s all for meow!

2 thoughts on “How To Handle a Less-Than-Stellar Haircut

Leave a Reply

