Building a Work Wardrobe

Hey Cats!

As you may know, I recently got a summer job at a law firm, doing everything from cleaning out storage closets to sitting in on meetings with clients. I’m learning new things every day, and while some days are more interesting than others, I absolutely love it! The office dress code is business casual, so I got really excited because when I wear “real people clothes” I feel like I really have my life together. However, aside from my one pair of black dress pants and all the cardigans I accumulated during my “dress like someone’s mom” phase in high school (not really as tragic as it sounds), I had nothing to wear to work. I wore my sister’s clothes for a few days, but then I realized that wasn’t going to work all summer. But I didn’t want to buy a closet full of work clothes when my job was only going to last for a little over a month. So I went out in search of a few pieces that would mix and match to give me an array of options. My first and only stop was Loft. I received an email saying that everything in the store was 50% off, so I practically drug my mother to the mall after dinner one night. And I hit the jackpot! For starters, I got the Marisa cropped pant in black, white, and khaki.

black pants

white pants

khaki pants

I like these because they mix and match with everything! I also like the cropped length for summer- not as hot as long pants!

Next, I added tops. I got these shells from Loft as well, but I couldn’t find them on the website anymore (but check out this similar option. I love the coral!). I chose purple and gray. I wear the purple top with the black or white pants, and the gray with the white pants. Also, please excuse my closet-it’s such a mess!

photo (23)

I also bought this white sheer long-sleeved top.

photo (24)

First of all, it desperately needs to be ironed. But anyways, I like to wear this with my long black pants and heels on days when I want to really look like a pro. Also, I love this because I can wear it in life outside of work! It pairs well with dark skinnies (or colored jeans) and wedges for a great dinner look.

image (32)

I absolutely adore this paisley sweater. It’s very light, so it’s not too hot! I love the stripes on the sleeves, too! I wear this with my khaki pants or jeans on Friday. I wore it in real life with my JCrew khaki chino shorts at the beach-I’m all about double-duty!

image (33)

I also bought this flowy black top. It looked fabulous on, and was only $14! I wear it with my white and khaki pants and my turquoise Kendra Scott Elle earrings for a pop of color! Once again, I can pair this top with shorts or jeans for a cute after work look as well!

Everything I purchased was from Loft, and it was also WAY on sale! If you sign up for their emails, you will be notified whenever they have a sale, which is great because most of their really big sales last for just one day!

In addition, I mix in the cardigans from the above-stated mom phase, JCrew solid tees, and other dressy tops from my closet or my sister’s. I typically wear sandals or black flats or occasionally heels. It’s not a huge wardrobe, but it’s enough to get me started! My take-away must haves for a beginning work wardrobe are:

-Comfortable dress pants in black, white, and khaki

-Shells that match each pair of pants (2 or 3)

-One white sheer long-sleeve

-One black shell or tank

-One fun patterned top that matches each pair of pants

-Cardigans galore.

What are your workplace wardrobe staples?

That’s all for meow!

 

Leave a Reply

