Recipe-Chocolate Chip Muffins

Hey Cats!

Who is excited for the weekend? I know I am, especially since this is the first weekend in probably two months I don’t have plans or have to go out of town, so I’m looking forward to a relaxing weekend at my house. As I have mentioned, breakfast is my favorite meal of the day- I love the variation of breakfast foods, from extra savory to basically dessert. I’m usually fine with cereal on mornings when I have to go to work or school, but lately I’ve just gotten tired of it. Tonight, I told my mother “I am so over my cereal, I’m making muffins.” She’s used to my dramatics, so she just told me to make sure I cleaned up my mess. We didn’t have any fruit I wanted to use, and I didn’t feel like going to the store, so I scoured the cupboard for usable ingredients. I came across mini chocolate chips and vanilla pudding mix, so I decided to see what I could do! I used a basic muffin recipe for guidance, but used my own judgement for most of the ingredients! Here’s what you’ll need:

Dry Ingredients

-1 1/2 cups flour

-1/2 cup granulated sugar

-2 tbsp brown sugar

-1 1/2 tsp baking soda

-1/2 tsp salt

-1 packet of instant vanilla pudding mix

Wet Ingredients

-1/3 cup melted butter

-1 egg

-3/4 cup milk

-3/4 cup mini chocolate chips

Here’s what you do:

First, preheat your oven to 350 and line a muffin tin with paper liners. Next, combine all the dry ingredients, making sure the brown sugar isn’t in clumps (I would suggest using a fork). Then, add your wet ingredients and mix well. The batter should be thick, but still pourable-at first I only added 1/2 cup of milk and it was like cookie dough, so I added more! Finally, stir in the chocolate chips! Pour into the lined muffin tin and bake for 25 minutes or until slightly golden and firm.

photo (29)

These are really dense, yet still creamy from the pudding mix! Also, mini chocolate chips are my new favorite thing because when you bake with them, they just take over the batter and you get chocolate in literally every bite…it’s beyond delicious. I can’t wait to have another one of these in the morning-hopefully I’ll be happier about this than I was my cereal!

What’s your favorite breakfast food?

That’s all for meow!

One thought on “Recipe-Chocolate Chip Muffins

  1. Pingback: 216/365: National Chocolate Chip Day | Eat My Words

Leave a Reply

