Trends Two Ways- The Flannel Button-Down

Hey Cats!

I hope everyone had a great Christmas with their friends and family- I know I did! Also, I didn’t really intend to take a week-long blogging break- it just kind of happened! But I’m back this week, and I’ve got a lot planned!

Today, I would like to share one of my favorite trends from fall & winter, the flannel button-down. Now, this trend is something I wouldn’t usually wear- in fact, it’s very “hipster”, and if there’s one thing you should know about me, it’s that the easiest way to insult me is to say I’m dressed like a hipster. However, this trend started sweeping College Station, so I decided to give it a try. It has since made its way to the realm of actual fashion, and I couldn’t be more pleased.

I will say that the “college girl version” of this trend is quite different from the “fashion blogger version”, but I love them both. Let’s start with

“The College Girl Look”

This look is definitely more casual and comfortable. As is the trend with t-shirts these days, the bigger the better (to an extent). Both of my flannels are from the men’s section- partly because of sizing, partly because of colors and availability. I like to wear mine with leggings, so I have to make sure there is sufficient coverage. I will typically wear my flannels with leggings or skinny jeans and either riding boots or Uggs, depending on the temperature and whether or not I care about what I look like. (Yes, I still wear Uggs, no I don’t really care what you think about it) Occasionally, I will wear a t-shirt underneath and leave the flannel unbuttoned, or add a chunky infinity scarf.

photo (55)

I wore this outfit shopping over Thanksgiving break, and it’s a classic example of the casual flannel look. My dad thinks it’s awesome that flannels are “cool”, so he bought my sister and I one for Christmas, and I’m slightly embarrassed to admit I’ve worn it three times since then- it’s December 30th. If you’re looking to wear a flannel this way, check out the men’s department at JCPenney. They’re currently on sale for $12.99!

“The Fashion Blogger Look”

This look is a bit more dressy than the “College Girl” style. In my mind, I’m picturing a fitted flannel paired with a party skirt and tights for a festive holiday look. Many of my favorite bloggers have taken this trend to the next level. Check out Grace from A Southern Drawl, Amber from King and Kind, and Emily from The Sweetest Thing. My flannel I got for Christmas is a bit more fitted, so I’m looking forward to experimenting for a more polished approach!

What do you think about the flannel trend? Let me know!

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest

Leave a Reply

