15 Things I Learned My Junior Year

Hey Cats!

I wrapped up my junior year at Texas A&M a couple of weeks ago, and I kind of can’t believe it. It feels like just yesterday I was moving into my dorm room as a freshman! Time flies when you’re having fun, I guess. As does each school year, this year came with its own set of unique challenges, experiences, and lessons. I could have written them all down for you, but you all have your own lives in which I’m sure you’ll inevitably learn something, so I shortened it to my top fifteen. Here’s some things you would have learned this year if you were Kristen Moss:

1. Living with your best friends is the best thing ever. After a less-than-ideal living situation my sophomore year, I moved in with my two best friends, and my other best friend lived a few doors down. I loved coming home to friendly faces, always having someone to make a late-night queso run with, and laughing constantly. It was a great year, and I’m looking forward to the summer and next year as well!

2. If one of your friends calls you because they can’t get home, go pick them up. Always. No, I don’t love getting out of my bed and driving across town at 1 am, but it’s better than leaving someone in a potentially dangerous situation. You’ll always be glad you did- trust me.

3. The more interviews you go to, the better you’ll get at them. In my first interview, when asked what I would do if I ran out of work to do, I said that I would “sit quietly”. Now, I know the correct answer to that question. I’ve left my last few interviews feeling confident in my answers and the impressions I made, and I know that it’s only because I’ve had so much practice.

4. Friends that take you to the emergency room the night before finals are the best kind of friends. Sorry Trina and Ashley, but I’m obviously forever grateful.

5. No matter how much you hate the class or the professor’s views, study for the test. Or you’ll end up making a C in a freshman-level humanities course, and you will cry.

6. Find an adult that’s not one of your parents to do life with. This year, I joined an inter-generational Bible study through my church, and the couple that led it had a huge impact on my life. It was nice to be around a family when I was away from my own, and to get advice from someone who actually knew what they were talking about.

7. It’s okay to not have a plan. So I don’t really know what I’m going to do after I graduate, and I had actual panic attacks about it this year. However, I know that it will all work out in the end, and God will lead me to wherever I’m supposed to be. ALSO, this doesn’t mean that I’m being passive, but I’m actively working towards a number of post-grad options.

8. Actually listen to advice from the people closest to you, especially if you know they’re right. If your sister and both of your closest friends tell you not to do something, they’re probably right. Don’t be stupid and do it anyways, unless you’re willing to deal with the consequences.

9. The only thing more effective than a strongly-worded email is multiple strongly-worded emails. In other words, learn how to be assertive (without being rude). Whether it’s dealing with a professor or your landlord, don’t be afraid to be persistent to get what you want/need.

10. Hard work pays off. At least that’s what the Aggie ring on my right hand tells me.

11. The effort it takes to make new friends is worth it. By this point in my life, people have their own friend groups, and it can be hard to be the new girl. I joined two existing Bible study groups this year, and felt like a bit of an outsider for a while. However, I kept going and made some really great friends in both groups.

12. Confidence is everything. Be confident in who you are, your abilities, your decisions, what you deserve, and most importantly, your faith. If you don’t believe in these things, neither will the people you interact with.

13. Real life is quickly approaching, and it’s time to be prepared. Many of my friends graduated from college last week, and they’re heading to medical school, grad school, or adult jobs, and it’s only a year until I’m in their shoes. Obviously I’m still going to have a great time while I can, but it’s time to “grab the bull by the horns” as my dad would say, and make choices that will contribute to my future success. In other words, HELP MEH, I’m old and have to be responsible.

14. Being able to apply what you’ve learned in your courses to real life is exciting. Not that this hasn’t happened before this year, but I feel like it happened a lot this year. Call me a nerd, but I really love it when something I’ve learned in school leads to a better understanding of something I come across in real life. It makes me feel like I’ve truly learned something, which is the whole point.

15. Never apologize for eating tacos and being who you are. I’ll leave this one open to your interpretation.

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest

Leave a Reply

