Trends I’m Loving- Agate Anything

Hey Cats!

I have been noticing agate popping up in jewelry and home decor a lot lately. You might be wondering what agate is, as was I. According to Wikipedia (credible source, I know) agate is a “microcrystalline variety of silica, formed by siliceous deposits in volcanoes”. Basically, it’s a very pretty rock found in volcanoes that, when sliced, has bands of beautiful colors. I think it’s a good thing I took Horticulture instead of Geology. Anyways, it’s a gorgeous natural material that brings a lot of interest and unique flair to accessories for both your ensembles and your living space. Here are a few of my favorite agate items:

agate bangle

This agate bangle from Ellie’s Sparkles is a great way to wear the trend. I love the white and gray agate, it reminds me of sea shells- perfect for summer! This would be a great piece to anchor your stacked wrist.

agate necklace

I also love this Sliced Hot Pink Agate necklace from Etsy. It’s a simple pendant necklace, but the pop of hot pink would instantly spruce up any neutral outfit.

agate coasters

I’m dying to have these Agate Coasters from Kate Spade Saturday for my apartment. How cute would these be on a black or gold coffee table? (Not that I have either one of those…ours is powder blue, but we’re talking about the ideal decor situation.) This is a great, small way to incorporate the agate trend into your home.

agate bookends

These agate bookends from West Elm would add the perfect touch of interesting to your bookshelf. I personally like to have some odds and ends on my bookshelf, I feel like it makes it decorative in addition to functional. I love the creamy blue and white colors of these bookends- it’s a more earthy-looking take on the trend.

Also, fun fact, I just read the book in the middle of the picture, The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down by Anne Fadiman for my Health Communication class. Because you wanted to know. It was actually quite emotional, and presented the unique challenges that doctors and people of different cultures face in the American health care system. If you ever have some time on your hands, you should read it- it really challenged my perspectives on some things! But I digress.

How would you like to incorporate the agate trend into your wardrobe or home? Let me know in the comments!

Today, I’m linking up with Zelle from A Southern Style, Kristina from Medicine & Manicures, Katie from Champagne & Suitcases, and Amanda from As the Wine Cork Turns for #TrendingTuesday- head over and see what’s trendy this Tuesday!

Medicine & Manicures

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest

2 thoughts on “Trends I’m Loving- Agate Anything

Leave a comment