In My Closet- The Everyday Handbag

Hey Cats!

Happy Thursday! It’s been a short week- yay! I’m definitely looking forward to the weekend, and I get to see my family on Sunday, so that’s exciting!

“In My Closet”  is a series where I feature a piece that I personally own that I believe is a staple in the wardrobe of a fashion-forward young woman. Today, we’re talking purses. I used to be a huge purse girl, but since I’ve been in college that’s changed- I’ve been carrying the same one since my freshman year!  I have an extensive collection of handbags at my parents’ house, from my Dooney & Bourke I got when I turned thirteen (my first “It Bag”), to the Juicy Couture monstrosity I saved months of babysitting money to buy, to the various other colorful totes I carried in high school. However these days I tend to carry the same bag every single day, unless I’m feeling crazy or going out or to a football game, or anywhere where it would be too fussy to carry a large handbag.

longchamp

I bought this Longchamp Small Le Pliage bag in Slate with my graduation money after I graduated from high school, and I’ve carried it ever since. It was (and still kind of is) a “college girl” bag, and I was so excited about it. I love the classic shape and color; although it was a big trend at the time, it’s actually quite a timeless addition to my closet. Another thing I love about this bag is that it’s incredibly durable. I’ve carried this bag across campus through the rain, filled it to the brim, dropped it in the grass, and (gasp) set it on the ground countless times.It’s never ripped, and aside from a few stains on the bottom and a little wear on the straps, it still looks pretty good. Also, I can fit literally everything I need inside. I always have a small first aid kit, my wallet, a small notepad, and tons of other crap really important things like receipts and grocery lists. In fact, just last week I shoved an umbrella and a pair of heels inside for my ‘commute’ to work. It’s like my mom bag, except I’m definitely not a mom. It’s my single-girl bag. Honestly, I’ll probably be carrying this until it falls apart. It’s definitely no small purchase, but Lois Longchamp (yes, I named her) has been with me for three years now, and it doesn’t look like she’s giving up anytime soon. Every girl needs a dependable everyday handbag in her closet- I would definitely suggest a Longchamp, but if that’s not your style, just be sure it’s a neutral that blends well with anything, is durable, and is a bottomless pit for all your everyday necessities.

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest

 

6 thoughts on “In My Closet- The Everyday Handbag

Leave a Reply

