In Defense of the UGG Boot

Because we all have a pair, and we’re all desperately searching for justification to wear them.

Short-Ugg-Boots_Chestnut_5_big

 

I got my Ugg boots for Christmas my junior year of high school at the height of their popularity, circa 2009.  Not only did I think they were the cutest shoes ever, I was going on a class trip to Washington D.C. that spring, and obviously I needed sherpa-lined footwear because there would be snow, and I’m from Texas and literally have no idea how to handle that. So, on Christmas morning 2009, 17-year old Kristen became a basic white girl, and not much has changed since then.

I have many fond memories of wearing my Ugg boots, and I’m actually quite impressed that they’ve held up for six years, including three long, hard, College Station winters. Unfortunately, I have also committed quite a few crimes of fashion while wearing them. These include (but are not limited to): wearing my Juicy Couture tracksuit TUCKED INSIDE the boots (I’m so, so sorry about this one) on multiple occasions (one happened like, last year. It was finals and I needed Starbucks, and I didn’t think I would see anyone I knew- I was wrong), with a sweater dress, and my personal favorite, with my cheerleading uniform to basketball games in high school because I obviously could not be bothered to put my cheer shoes on at my own house.

So many people hate Ugg boots, and to be honest, I get it- to an extent. They are not that cute and they actually make your feet look like giant potatoes. They make many short girls like me look incredibly stubby, and don’t even get me started on the ones with colorful glitter. But…have you ever put them on? They’re like little cloud pockets for your feet. And they’re so warm. I have worn them in actual snow, across campus in “freezing” conditions, and to the dumpster in mid-October, and my feet have always been so cozy. They are so great for when you’re running late to class, anytime the temperature is below 40 degrees, when you feel like wearing pajamas all day (for we all know that Uggs are the pajamas of shoes), or for when lacing up tennis shoes sounds like the hardest task in the world and you cannot even.

Here’s the deal: I know that my Uggs make me have potato feet and stubb legs, and look like a “basic white girl” (but pretty much everything does these days). I am aware that I am one of the diminishing few that wear them to school/the grocery store/anywhere. But I love them. I love them because they’re warm. I love them because they’re easy. I love them because you hate them. But most of all, I love them because nothing says “I do literally whatever I want” more than a pair of Ugg boots in public.

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Instagram

Leave a Reply

