Friday’s Five

Hey Cats!

Happy Friday! I hope those of you who went shopping yesterday survived and found something that made it worth your trip. My mom and I went to the mall, and it was like feeding time at the zoo. They were having a mega sale on boots at Dillard’s and all of the boxes were stacked on tables that reached far beyond the shoe department. People were digging through the piles like they were looking for hidden treasure (which I guess they were), throwing stuff around, pushing people out of the way, and grabbing things from each other. It reminded me of in Mean Girls when Cady Heron would imagine how things would be settled in the animal world, and I almost had a panic attack. I bought one sweater and then ran away before things got out of hand. Anyways, here’s what I’m loving this week:

1. Marsala as Pantone’s 2015 Color of the Year

marsala-pantone

This could be considered old news, but whatever. Pantone, the “world-renowned authority on color” (I am the world-renowned authority on tacos, FYI.) named Marsala as the Color of the Year for 2015. This red-brown hue is kind of earthy, but it’s almost jewel tone-y as well, which I love. If you aren’t convinced, as I was not, check out this intro spread on the Pantone website, and see how rich and dramatic Marsala is in your wardrobe, decor, and even on your plate! Pair it with grays, taupes, deep blues, and golds for the best results.

2.Yoga

yoga studio

This past semester, I got into a really great habit of going to the gym almost every day, and it got to the point where I HAD to go to be able to do anything else that day. However, once I got home for Christmas break, I didn’t have that luxury, and it’s been driving me absolutely insane. I tried running outside, but I’m kind of a wimp and I don’t like the cold. So I haven’t exercised in almost two weeks and sometimes I cry when I think about how long it’s going to take me to get back to where I was before I came home, not a joke. I did go to yoga with my sister the other day, and I loved it! I’ve done Pilates, but never yoga, and I really enjoyed it! I think I’m going to try and add that into my regular workout routine one or two days a week.

3. Quinoa Salad Recipes

asian-quinoa-salad-recipes-

 

Since we’re talking about things I’m having withdrawals from, let’s add quinoa to the list. I just really love it, and I would eat it nearly every night with some form of roasted vegetable and chicken while I was at school. I love my mom’s food, but after all of the holiday foods, I only want quinoa and roasted brussels sprouts. Also if you can’t tell by now, I really love routine and have a very hard time with change, even with my food. Ever since a lady behind me at Salata put quinoa in her salad, I have been obsessed with the combination of the grain and leafy greens, so I was really pleased when I came across this collection of quinoa salad recipes on Pinterest. Some of them are a little too much for me, but there are quite a few I’m wanting to try!

4. A Healthy Dose of Side-Eye

side-eye

You know I live for perfectly-timed expressions of sass, so I was beside myself when I came across this list of the Most Important Celebrity Side-Eyes of 2014 whilst bumbling along my Twitter feed. From Kate to North, they’re all perfect, and I can’t decide which one is my favorite. Keep up the good work, ladies. Keep it up.

5. Trivia Crack

Trivia-Crack-Feature

Last winter break it was QuizUp, this time it’s Trivia Crack that’s ruining my life and turning me into an anti-social blob. Something about answering random questions correctly just fills me with joy and makes me remember every history/science/geography class I’ve ever taken. It’s a massive waste of time, but my friend Kinsey said that it’s making us smarter, so that’s just what I’ll keep telling myself.

Have a great weekend, and be sure to practice your side-eye and take a small break from Trivia Crack at some point.

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Instagram

Leave a Reply

