WorkIt Wednesday- Back To School Shopping List

Hey Cats!

I’m back in Aggieland! I drove in yesterday, so I could get back into the swing of things and work a little before school starts on Monday. I cannot believe it’s my last semester of college! I feel like my parents just left me at my dorm as a freshman…but that’s a sappy blog post for another day. Anyways, I was supposed to go to the grocery store when I got in yesterday afternoon, but after unloading my car and seeing that unpacking was going to be quite the task, I decided to get Chipotle and watch The Bachelor with my roommates instead. (also I’m actually terrified of Ashley S. That is all.) So I get to go after work today-yay!

If there’s one thing I’ve learned from adopting a healthy lifestyle, it’s that exercise definitely gives you results, but eating right is crucial to looking and feeling better. You know that saying “when you eat crap, you feel like crap”? It’s true. Growing up I hated vegetables and looooooved junk food. My mom always made healthy meals and limited my junk food intake, but I still would have rather had ice cream as opposed to an apple. When I first got to college, I had really bad eating habits when I was living in the dorm. They improved a bit once I moved off-campus and had a kitchen, but my idea of a balanced meal was chicken, rice, and some frozen corn I zapped in the microwave. Okay, but not the best. Over the summer, I started trying new recipes I would find on Pinterest, or get from my sister, and started to cut down on processed food and snacks like chips, crackers, and sweets. I felt so much better, and I know it’s because I was putting good fuel into my body. Unfortunately, I got a little off track over Christmas break, but tomorrow’s grocery store trip should help! Here is my shopping list to prepare for the semester- since I didn’t go today, it’s tentative, but if I pick up something extra, I’ll be sure to add it!

grocery shopping

Breakfast:

-Coffee (because I woke up this morning and realized I didn’t have any…#dead)

-Greek yogurt (my favorite is Chobani coconut!)

-Almond milk coffee creamer (my latest obsession- thanks mom!)

-soy milk

-sack of grapefruit or cuties (whichever is cheaper)

-eggs

Lunch

-Salad stuff:

-romaine hearts

-cherry tomatoes

-kale (this is a maybe…I’ll have to price it!)

-carrots (also tentative)

-slivered almonds

-ham lunch meat

-Salad dressing (current favorite: Olive Garden- SO good!)

-Soup-to-go

-Applesauce cups (hi, I’m five)

-Fruit snacks (not super healthy, but I can’t give up everything)

-Flour tortillas (if I want a wrap instead of a salad)

Snacks

-Cheese sticks

-Green juice

-Snack crackers (probs Goldfish- another thing I can’t live without)

Dinner

-Quinoa (duh)

-Brussels sprouts

-Frozen chicken breasts

Miscellaneous 

-Shredded cheddar cheese

-Shredded Parmesan cheese

-Lemon juice

-Olive oil

I know this list seems a little short, and you probably are thinking I’m crazy specific with my meals. But, I have some staples on hand, and plan on mixing things up! A lot of the items under “Lunch” will definitely be used for dinner as well, and I usually eat fruit or popcorn that I already have for snacks, which is why that section is so small! However, if you’re wanting to start healthy eating habits, this is a good list to work off of!

What’s on your healthy grocery list? Let me know!

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Instagram

2 thoughts on “WorkIt Wednesday- Back To School Shopping List

  1. Ashley S. is CRAZY… Still can’t decide if she’s putting it on for the show or really does need to be committed. Also, do they have flavored almond milk creamer? We have always used coffee mate hazelnut but the ingredients list is a little scary… Everything else in or diet is pretty clean. But the creamer…

    • Haha yes! I thought at first it was an act, but I’m not really sure…she’s just too weird! Silk has vanilla, which is really delicious, but I’m not sure about other brands. I alternate between the almond milk kind and coffee mate caramel macchiato …it’s probably not the healthiest, but it’s another thing I can’t give up! And it’s only a little bit 😉

Leave a Reply

