Friday’s Five

Hey Cats!

Happy Friday! I have both today and Monday off from work, so I’m super excited about this extra-long weekend! I’m going to blog, catch up with friends, and cry because the stuff on my syllabus looks dreadful. I really like school, but I’m honestly ready to be #done. Pray for me, I will need it. This isn’t to say that I’m not a little excited about school…it will be nice to get back into a routine, since all I’ve done over the break is lounge around. But I’m not sure I’m ready for how busy I’m going to be! I digress.

Anyways, here’s what I’m loving this week:

1.

The-Schlep-Dree-LV-nyc-636x423

Man Repeller has done it again. Their article on The Schlep is basically my life. I know I don’t live in NYC, but if you’ve ever seen me frantically walking across campus with my backpack, tote bag, and excessive outerwear, you know that I schlep. Especially in the winter, because it’s hard to carry everything when my arms are extra puffy from my coat and I can’t really move my head very well because my scarf is suffocating me. For example: on Wednesday, it was 39 degrees and I had to walk across campus to get to work. Naturally, I wore fleece leggings under my dress pants that need to be re-hemmed, a sweater, my long (knee-length on regular people, longer on me) coat, and a chunky scarf, and was lugging my work tote and purse. I kept tripping over my pants, my tote kept slipping off my shoulder, and my hair was blowing everywhere. Halfway there, it hit me. “Oh God, I am the Schlepper from Man Repeller.” Raise your hand if you’re not surprised. Schlep on, my friends.

2.

hidden-message-necklace

How awesome is this Hidden Message Necklace from Beth Macri Designs? At first glance it looks like three mixed-metal bars, which is pretty cool on its own. But from a different angle it shows a three-letter/character message- like a secret that only you know. Except I would show everyone because 1. It’s cool and 2. Secrets are not my strong point. It would be cute to do your initials (you people know I love anything personalized), or the initials of you and your significant other. I think you can do more than three letters, so the possibilities are endless! Just make sure your secret doesn’t get out of control.

3.

olsen-twins

The secret is out. Have you ever wondered about the Olsen twin’s signature “too vogue for you” face? Well thanks to Buzzfeed, now literally everyone knows.  I’m not going to lie, I knew this in high school. All of my friends and I did, and we would take “prunes” pictures at every major event because why wouldn’t we? Anyways, I’m definitely bringing this back, because when you can’t be an Olsen twin, you should pretend you are anyways.

4.

carrot-fires

I made these carrot fries for dinner last night and they were quite delicious. I bought matchstick carrots to put in salads, but I remembered that I had pinned this recipe, so I decided to try it out. You should definitely cook them on a higher heat like she suggests at the end, because I didn’t and some of them didn’t cook all the way through. But if you’re looking for something different for dinner, this is a yummy and easy option!

5.

barbie-n-friendz

It’s Barbie again. This Buzzfeed article may be from 2013, but that’s irrelevant. It shows the 11 Hottest Runway Trends inspired by 90’s Barbies, and it made. my. day. You really can’t go wrong when you combine Barbie with anything in the real world, at least not in my book. Also I definitely had the doll in the green overalls pictured above- her name was Skipper and I remember I wanted her because I LOVED the overalls/crop top combo, and I thought it made her look like Britney Spears. And some things never change.

Have a great weekend!

That’s all for meow!

 

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Instagram

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

