Monday’s Musings

Hey Cats!

Sorry for the abrupt end of posts last week! I really had every intention of keeping up the pace, and I even had posts planned for the rest of the week, but I had multiple meltdowns about school and I got really busy trying to figure out my new schedule, so unfortunately things did not go as planned. But when do they ever. I wish I could promise to keep posting regularly, but sometimes school and life gets in the way unexpectedly!

Last week was my first week back to school, and it was okay- not my favorite first week ever. I only have class on Tuesday and Thursday, but I work Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. I actually really like that I don’t have to work and go to school on the same days! I’m not super excited about any of my classes, but that’s okay because there’s not very many of them. Also, I dropped a class on Thursday so now I only have two classes on campus, and the other two are online. Which some people would love, but I tend to forget about online classes, so we’ll see how this goes. Other than class, it was really nice to get back into a routine, and I can’t wait until next week when all of my activities start up again!

One thing I’m really horrible at is making important decisions. Actually, I usually know what the right decision is, but I have a really hard time implementing it. I’m always asking myself “but what if?” and second-guessing whether or not what I think is the right choice is actually the right choice. Like I said, I usually know what I should do, but I always have a hard time convincing myself, especially if it’s something that seems really permanent or final. I came across this quote recently, and I think it’s perfect for those times when you’re in a tough spot:

 

wisdom-courage-quote

 

Sometimes we need the wisdom, but most of the time we just need the courage. It doesn’t matter if you know what you should do if you’re still too afraid to do it.  Whether it’s dropping a class,  changing your major, or ending things with your not-boyfriend, sometimes you just need an extra push to actually do it. That can come from encouragement from your friends and family, through prayer and spending time in God’s word, or it can just hit you like a ton of bricks and you know you literally do not have a choice- it must be done. So the next time you find yourself in a situation where a tough choice is in front of you, I would encourage you to pray not only for wisdom, but for the courage to act on it.

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Instagram

2 thoughts on “Monday’s Musings

  1. I am right there with yah about making important decisions. When I had to choose my major freshman year I totally flaked and felt like I was being forced to predict my future, it was bad. There came a day where I was so overwhelmed I started sobbing on the phone with my mom walking from Northside to my dorm on Southside after meeting with an “advisor”. There is a book called Just Do Something (original, I know) by Kevin DeYoung and it is all about getting stuck when making decisions. Just a few quotes to encourage you:

    “… while we are free to ask God for wisdom, He does not burden us with the task of divining His will of direction for our lives ahead of time.” pg. 24

    “…God gives his children the will to walk in His ways- not by revealing a series of next steps cloaked in shadows, but by giving us a heart to delight in His law.” pg. 121-122

    “…in almost any job God can be pleased with your work so long as you are taking pleasure in him as you do it.” pg. 104

    “He will provide us with the food, drink, jobs, housing, with everything that we need to live and glorify him in this life until he wants us to glorify him by dying. Worrying and fretting and obsessing about the future, even if it is a pseudo-holy worry that attempts to discern the will of God, will not add one single hour to your life, and it will certainly not add any happiness or holiness either.” pg. 56

    “He calls us to run hard after him, his commands, and his glory. The decision to be in God’s will is not the choice between Memphis or Fargo or engineering or art; it’s the daily decision we face to seek God’s kingdom in ours, submit to his lordship or not, live according to His rules or our own. The question God cares about isn’t “Where should I live?” but “Do I love the Lord with all my heart, soul, strength, and mind and do I love my neighbor as myself?” pg. 57-58

    Hopefully those encourage you. There is an ending to this crazy, wonderful time and I can’t wait to see where the Lord takes you!
    Love you, Kristen!

    • KATIE. I love this so so much, and I cannot thank you enough for this encouragement! I think we both know that I can get caught up in the “what’s next” and forget about what’s right now, which is a chance to live my life to glorify the Lord. I will definitely have to read that book soon! Thank you for being such a sweet friend- love you so much!

Leave a Reply

