Recipe-Baked Egg & Broiled Grapefruit Breakfast

Hey Cats!

It’s class day for me! I love only having school two days a week because it gives me the illusion that I have copious amounts of free time, but it’s a little hard to switch gears every day! I’m hoping that I will get used to it soon. Per usual, I’m trying to start the semester off strong by staying on top of my work, which is going surprisingly well- mostly because I know I’m going out of town this weekend and I’ll have to finish my online assignments before the weekend if I’m going to get them in on time! So we’ll see how long this lasts.

One thing I like about my schedule this semester is that I have time on the days I go to work to take my time in the morning. I can blog a little, maybe have two cups of coffee, and cook breakfast if I wake up early enough! Most important is cooking breakfast, obviously. I have a new favorite recipe that I’ll be sharing with you today. I made it almost every day over Christmas break, and it’s just soooooo good.

IMG_0030

Something about baking an egg makes it extra delicious. And you can add lots of toppings to make it even better! Here’s what you need:

-1 egg

-spices of your choice (see below for my favorite combos!)

-Cheese of your choice

Here’s what you do:

1. First, pre-heat your oven to 350.

2. Spray a ramekin, coffee mug, or muffin tin with cooking spray. I prefer using a ramekin, but we don’t have any at my apartment, so I experimented with both a coffee mug and a muffin tin. The coffee mug made me nervous and got super hot, so I think the muffin tin is the way to go. Plus, if you want to make more than one, it would work well!

3. Crack an egg into the ramekin. Season with salt & pepper.

4. Next, add your spices and cheese. Here are a few of my favorites:

-dill and parmesan cheese

-sriracha or hot sauce and cheddar cheese

-crushed red pepper flakes and cheddar cheese

5. Bake for 12-15 minutes, or until the egg is cooked all the way through. Sometimes I like my yolk a little undercooked, but you should definitely make sure the white is cooked through. You may have to poke through the cheese, but please make sure it’s safe to eat- I don’t need to feel guilty about any of you contracting salmonella.

6. Enjoy!

You’ll also notice that there’s a broiled grapefruit in the photo. This is a great addition to a balanced meal, not to mention it’s really yummy. Here’s what you need:

-1 medium grapefruit

-1-2 tablespoons brown sugar

Here’s what you’ll do:

1. Set your oven to High Broil.

2. Cut your grapefruit in half and place cut-side up in a pan (I just use a circular cake pan).

3. Sprinkle a little brown sugar on each half. I use closer to 2 tablespoons, and I like to make sure it’s spread evenly over the flesh of the fruit.

4. Broil for 3-5 minutes, or until the fruit is bubbly. Just be sure to keep an eye on it, it burns very quickly!

5. Enjoy!

Honestly, I probably wouldn’t make both of these things on a school morning- this is more of a Saturday breakfast. But you should definitely try it out! And if you think of any other cheese/spice combos for the eggs, let me know- I’m always looking to switch it up!

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

