A Shorts Story

Hey Cats!

It may be the end of June, but it’s finally starting to feel like summer in Houston! It’s warmer, and most importantly, it’s finally stopped raining…at least for about a week. I love shorts, sundresses, sandals, and tanks, so whenever summer weather rolls around, I get really excited! Unfortunately, I can’t wear too much of that to work, but I don’t think that will stop me from buying a whole closet full anyways.

The first thing I get excited about is sandals, because free feet, obviously. Following closely behind that is shorts, because my legs can also be free. Basically, I don’t like to be trapped in clothing of any kind, and summer is a great time to give my appendages a chance to breathe. This summer, I’ve had my eye on a few pairs of shorts that I’d love to add to my closet. I’ve previously discussed the importance of a good pair of denim shorts, and the basic color chinos everyone needs, so what I’m looking at this season is a little less practical, but a lot more fun.

lilly-shorts

These Buttercup Scallop Hem shorts from Lilly Pulitzer are everything I want to be in life: cute, classic, a little unexpected, and an all-around favorite. I mean, they’re scalloped, what more could you want? I am definitely planning on taking a pair of these home for myself, once I decide what pattern I want…they’re all so pretty! These would look cute with a solid, loose-fitting tee and sandals for brunch, or with a chambray and a pair of wedges for dinner at the beach!

jcrew-blue-chinos

Up next are these JCrew Factory chinos in Alpine Blue. Honestly, you can never have too many chinos, and it’s my personal mission to own every color. Last summer I bought the festival blue, and in addition to this pair, I want the vibrant flame pair, too. The thing I love about JCrew chinos is that they’re durable, classic, flattering, and you can always get a good deal on them if you just keep your eye on the website! They’re actually $19.50 right now, but I’m working on not spending all my money, so I’m going to have to control myself until I get my next paycheck. Pray for me.

larkin-shorts

These Larkin shorts from Sideline Sass would be perfect for going out! They’re fancy and fun, but they also have an elastic waistband which is always a dream come true. The girly lace trim is also a nice touch. These could be dressed up or down, but I think they would be perfect paired with a navy tank, a tassel necklace, and sandals for a casual night out.

sheinside-shorts

These tassel shorts from SheInside are a great way to have a little fun without going too crazy. I’m loving the tassel trend this summer, and this would be an easy way to give it a try. Plus, they’re under $15 right now! These would look great with a crisp, white structured top, or even over a swimsuit at the beach or pool.

What shorts are you thinking about adding to your closet this year? Let me know!

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Instagram

 

Leave a Reply

