Recipe- Caramelized Onion and Kale Pizza

Hey Cats!

As you know, pizza is my latest obsession. Or should I say, making pizza is my latest obsession. And eating it. And talking about it. So all of it, pretty much. It’s my current goal to make all of my favorite meals into a pizza. Like most of my goals, I got started on this one right away and made a pizza inspired by one of my favorite pasta recipes. My sea-star shared this caramelized onion and kale linguine recipe from Camille Styles with me a couple of months ago, and I looooooved it. When I was looking for a pizza recipe, I couldn’t find one that I super loved, and my mind kept going back to the tangy onion and kale flavor combination. But I didn’t really want pasta, because you can’t freeze it like you can pizza, and I knew I was going to be gone most of the weekend. So I decided to make it into a pizza! I used the same caramelizing technique for the onions and kale, and used fresh mozzarella and pine nuts as well, only adding pesto for the sauce! And now I’m pretty sure that I’m a culinary genius, so stay tuned for my cookbook. Anyways, I’m excited to share this pizza with you!

IMG_0554

Here’s what you’ll need:

– 1 tube refrigerated pizza dough (I used a whole wheat crust- super yummy with this flavor combo!)

-2-3 tablespoons pesto, depending on your taste

-1 8-oz log of fresh mozzarella, sliced

-1/2 of a large purple onion, thinly sliced

-1/4 bunch kale, chopped

-2 tablespoons (or more) pine nuts

-Parmesan cheese

Here’s what you do:

1. Preheat the oven according to the directions on the package.

2. Next, chop the onions and kale, but keep them separated.

3. Spray a cookie sheet with nonstick cooking spray, and then spread the pizza crust evenly on the pan.

4. Next, spread a layer of pesto on the dough. I personally think that a little pesto goes a long way, so my layer was pretty thin.

5. Then, arrange the mozzarella slices on top of the pesto. I actually didn’t use the whole 8 oz, but I did make sure every inch was covered with cheese.

6. Pop the crust into the oven for 8-10 minutes, or until the mozzarella starts to get bubbly.

7. While the crust is in the oven, heat two tablespoons of olive oil in a skillet over medium heat, and then add the onions.

8. Saute the onions for ten minutes, then add 1/4 teaspoon of salt, reduce the heat, and cook for 10-15 minutes more until the onions are caramelized. I know this sounds like a loooooong time, but it’s worth it, I promise!

9. Once the onions are caramelized, add the kale. Cover and cook for 5-7 minutes until the kale is wilted, but still bright green. (This is where I made a mistake: I cooked the veggies wayyy too long and burned them. They were delicious, but ugly).

10. After the kale is cooked, spread the kale-onion mixture evenly on top of the melted mozzarella. Well, as evenly as you can. Then sprinkle the pine nuts and parmesan on top, and pop it back into the oven for about 5 minutes until the cheese is melted.

11. Cut the pizza into squares and enjoy!

IMG_0558

That’s all for meow!

For more Sweet Cats!, follow along at:

Bloglovin’
Twitter
Facebook
Pinterest
Instagram

Leave a Reply

